ULM logo
College of Business & Social Sciences
School of Construction Management

Annual Awards by University of Louisiana – Monroe

School of Construction Management

Industry Advisory Council


THE ULM DISTINGUISHED ALUMNUS AWARD – given to a graduate of the University of Louisiana - Monroe – School of Construction Management or its predecessors who received their degree a minimum of ten years prior to being given the award. Since graduation, nominees must have distinguished themselves in the field of construction management while demonstrating consistent support of the ULM School of Construction Management or its predecessors.

THE ULM CONSTRUCTOR OF THE YEAR AWARD – recognizes accomplishments of those who have distinguished themselves throughout their career in the construction industry. Nominees should not only be remarkable because they significantly contribute to quality facilities in the construction industry and are highly regarded by their peers, but also have served or are serving in leadership positions in construction industry organizations, have or have had a positive visible presence in community efforts and/or events, and finally, currently support or have actively supported the University of Louisiana – Monroe or its predecessors- School of Construction Management to include current and past faculty of the University of Louisiana - Monroe or its predecessors. It is not required that he/she be a graduate of the School of Construction Management.

It is not a requirement that either of these awards be given each year. Nominations for both awards can be made by ULM Alumni, Members of the ULM IAC, ULM Faculty, or professionals active in the construction industry.

The Recognition Sub-Committee of the Alumni & Industry Relations shall receive the nominations and develop a short list. The Industry Advisory Council will then vote electronically on the submitted short list and the nominee must receive 2/3 affirmative votes of the IAC body for induction. Recipients of the awards will be announced in the fall of the year at the Industry Advisory Council reunion or the Industry Advisory Council meeting.